Embracing Real Titahood: Hello 30s!

I was never into birthday celebrations, especially birthday surprises. I appreciate them and I don’t mind participating in them, but I’m not the type who would organize and coordinate just to celebrate a birthday or surprise someone. As an adult, I usually celebrate my birthday with my family. Nothing grand. Just the four of us eating good food in a good place while enjoying each other’s company. And I love that kind of set up. However, I decided to change it a bit this year. I wanted this year to be extra memorable because this is the year that I’m finally and eagerly embracing adulthood or should I say titahood.

This year, I decided to celebrate my 30th birthday with my chosen family. These people are the ones I can relate to the most because they are also the ones I was with the most, growing up as a teenager. They are the ones I am very comfortable with because they are open and genuine, and they appreciate me for who I am. We don’t get to catch up that much because most of us don’t always go online, but it’s so easy for us to talk for hours and update each other when we do find the time to hangout.

My best frenemy, my sister, my person ❤
My high school BFF, my forever coolot friend ❤
My college barkada, my hermanas (insert Andi and Aira) ❤

And since we don’t always update each other, imagine the chaos inside my head when I was trying to coordinate our schedules for our Boracay trip! I was really anxious that it might not go ahead, or only a few of us would be able to come. But the Lord is so good, He really made it happen. It was only by His grace and provision that we were able to fly and celebrate our friendship on a beautiful island.

Boracay Island, Philippines

We were a group of 13 all in all. My sister, Hanna, came with her college BFFs too, while my HS BFF Miah brought her boyfriend Panda with her. This trip is really not just about birthdays but also about the friendships that we’ve made and kept through the years. My heart was so full having these people around during the best weekend of my life. It was indeed a memorable 30th birthday. Thank you, Lord!

Leave a comment